I Graduated RN School

Standard

An isolated mortarboard and stethoscope to conceptualize the medical graduate.

Well, here I am. I finally made it to the end and graduated from RN nursing school. There were many times I doubted myself and my abilities, but I kept at it, and I did it. I am so proud of myself for hanging on, although I wasn’t sure I could. Now that RN school is over, which seemed like it took forever, I am starting BSN school in a few weeks. I know, I am gluten for punishment. I am afraid to take a break, for fear I may never finish the plans I have laid out for myself.

For those of you who do not know, I have been an LPN for 22 + years. I started RN school before I ever went through LPN school, but unfortunately life and it’s happenings got in the way of me completing my RN degree until now. I wasn’t sure I would ever make it to this point. I am 45 years old with two practically grown children, so graduating with my ADN was bittersweet for me. My well laid out plan includes completing my BSN in the next year, and then going on to complete my Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner degree after that and be done with everything by the time I am 50 years old. This will still give me at the very least 15 years to work, save money, pay off bills, and retire comfortably by the time I am around 65 years old. God willing, this will still give me time to relax and enjoy the rest of my days on this earth. The only regrets that I have in all of this is not seeing the light way before I turned 4o something. It is what it is though, and I plan to make the most of it now.

I plan to continue adding things throughout the rest of my school journey in hopes of helping other students. By all means, if you have questions, do not hesitate to ask.

2 responses »

  1. I am 50 & will finish ADN in 2017. I have BA & MHA and hopefully will set me on the path of my 2nd career.

    Thanks for your encouragement and tips for success!

    Like

Leave a comment