2 Days Before Physical Health Assessment Validation

Standard

taking-test-clipart-LTKk4oATa
Hi all. Anxiety is really starting to set in about doing our Physical Assessment Validation on Thursday. I am so nervous that I am going to forget something. I have been doing focused assessments for so long, I had to use a LOT of time studying the various points of doing the entire body assessment, not to mention remembering the exact and appropriate things that we are supposed to verbally say out loud to our instructor.
Today, my plan is to do the assessment over and over and over again on my daughter until I can do it with my eyes closed. I don’t care if I am up all night doing this. I don’t want to go in there Thursday and embarrass myself. I set standards for myself extremely high. If I go in there and mess this up, I am going to be so disappointed in myself. I am also now starting to worry about the actual exam part of Thursday because I have been focusing so much time on doing the assessment correctly.

Let me know how you are feeling about doing the Physical Assessment, or if you are already an RN visiting our site, share how you did on your Physical Assessment validation in school.

One response »

  1. Hey all. I made it through our Physical Exam assessment. I passed this without any problems. I felt I did a pretty good job, considering the nerves that were going on in the days prior to doing it. I was proud of how it actually went. I ended up getting the 2nd half of the assessment. We had to draw numbers to see who got the 1st half of the assessment and who got the 2nd half of the assessment. It did not matter to me which part I got; I was just beyond ready to get it done. Once I knew which half of the assessment I was doing, I just took a deep breath, and calmed my nerves. I started talking and assessing, and the rest is history.

    My best advice to any nursing student that is getting ready for this part of the nursing course is to find numerous people that you can do this on. Then, just do the assessment per your schools preference, over and over and over again until you think you know it like the back of your hand. Then, start all over again. Do it until you feel like you are going to be physically sick, if you hear the words physical assessment again. Trust me, you won’t regret it. The more comfortable you are with it, the less nervous you will be about doing it on your clinical skills validation day. When you are trying to remember this much information, not being nervous is the key.

    Like

Leave a Reply

